Skip to content

Right This Minute

November 17, 2009

I’m in outline mode, sort of. Dark Obsession (Rae’s book) is already mostly outlined and some chapters are already written, but I want to be as sure as I can be at this point that I don’t have any huge holes in the plot. There’s nothing more frustrating than getting to the last couple of chapters of a WIP and realizing there is absolutely no reason to explain a character’s behavior/choice.

Except instead of looking over my notes and fleshing out motivation and conflict,  I’m really finding it hard to ignore the copy of Nalini Singh’s Blaze of Memory sitting just a few feet away. I’m pretty sure I could even reach it from my spot on the recliner without knocking over the notebook and pile of papers perched on the arm of the chair. And if I did happen to fall flat on my face (cause leaning too far over when you’re legs are tucked underneath you is just asking for trouble) in the process, there’s only Babygirl to witness the act, and who’s she telling?

Only I know the second I grab the book, thinking that I’ll just read a page or two, I’ll get sucked right back in. Then my outline won’t get tweaked and I won’t be ready to get back to writing and I’ll be behind before I’ve barely gotten started.

So it’s back to work for me…fingers crossed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

