Skip to content

What more can I say

September 30, 2009

Dear laptop,

I know you’re still annoyed that I left you home on the weekend, but truth be told we needed the break. I know it’s cliche, but really it’s not you, it’s me. I needed some space, room to breathe without you hovering over my shoulder, coaxing me to get online or work, work, work. Even though I know you have my best interests at heart, I was just feeling smothered.

We both know how clingy you can be, giving me those soulful looks from across the hall when you catch me spending too much time cooking or cleaning. While I appreciate that the house could go to hell and you wouldn’t care, we both know eventually I’d come to resent you for it. At least my husband would.

But I think the break has been good for us. It would just really help if you would stop giving me the cold shoulder and shutting yourself off to get back at me. Cause I’d really hate to point out there are plenty of other laptops in the sea.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 12:37 am

    Careful Syd threatening your laptop is never a good idea. They have ways of getting even … misplacing that file you know you saved in your “My Documents” file, crashing just as you were about to save the revisions you’ve been slaving over for the last two hours …
    Just say you’re sorry you abandoned it for the weekend and promise it some “us” time now that you’re back.

    • October 5, 2009 1:06 am

      LOL. This is true. I’ve been pretty lucky that it’s never crashed on me or anything, but there’s always a first time.

  2. September 30, 2009 1:22 am

    Ya know, I am beginning to think that all laptops/PC’s are going on strike! Since my hubby deployed, mine has been giving me LOTS of attitude! It freezes up, refuses to download photos to share with my hubby, and whenever I try to write him, once I press “send,” suddenly my message deletes. Hmm…

    Maybe my PC is really just made at him. ;o)

    • October 5, 2009 1:17 am

      Hang in there, Heather. It must be going through some separation anxiety, but its bound to come around.

Leave a Reply

