Skip to content

It sneaks up on you

September 7, 2009

The one thing you never read in romance books is how tall the hero and heroine’s kids will be, especially when the hero is 6’4. Or how fast they grow. Allow me to put this into perspective for you. I’m 5’6 and in the spring Oldest came to mid- chest on me. Flash forward a few months. I hear him going to the bathroom in the middle of the night and get up to check on him. As I’m tucking him back in bed I’m struck dumb by how tall he’s grown in such a short time. He’s now just an inch or so shy of my shoulder. How did I miss this?

July 09 108 cropped

Did I mention that he’s only seven???  I long ago accepted that I’d be looking up at both my boys when they got older, I just didn’t realized how soon that was going to be. I mean, he’s only seven.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Raonaid Luckwell permalink
    September 7, 2009 9:42 pm

    I can relate! I just noticed how tall my eleven year old is. I’m about 5’1 to 5’2. My eleven year old is over my shoulders. He’s just a couple inches shy of my height.

    It doesn’t help that he’s lanky and long legs.. courtesy of my father, grandfather (On my mom’s side) and uncles. I have a feeling he’s gonna be as tall as his daddy and grandfather who tower over me.

    • September 8, 2009 5:39 pm

      I can’t imagine the day mine will be meeting me eye to eye. I guess that’s not too far off for you. 🙂

  2. September 7, 2009 10:31 pm

    Having tall kids is great Syd. I’m 5’2″ and my son is nearly 6′. In addition to being a great kid, he’s very convenient when I need somebody to grab something off the top shelf in the kitchen.

    • September 8, 2009 5:40 pm

      I can’t say I’m not looking forward to the many uses I’ll find for them when they get that tall. 🙂 At least my baby girl is still way too small to be thinking about how much taller than me she’ll probably be too.

Leave a Reply

