Skip to content

Chanton–out. Jakken and Curly–in

December 11, 2008

No they aren’t characters from any work in progress. They would be my 4 year-old’s imaginary friends. Where he came up with their names, I have no idea. He also dreamed up the name Cagle when he heard he’d have a baby sister in March. He gets rather offended whenever I say that we’re still thinking it over.

Anyway, Chanton came to live with us about a year and a half ago. My son was just learning to draw family portraits and out of the blue started adding a fifth member to his artwork. For a while there Chanton was such a tight member of the family, I couldn’t help but wonder if my son was really seeing someone. 🙂

But as of yesterday, Chanton has gone to live with another family and Jakken and Curly are his two new live-in best friends. Curly is a girl with gold hair (like our Retriever) and red eyes. RED eyes. I guess if doors start randomly slamming around here, then I can worry.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Crys permalink
    December 11, 2008 1:42 pm

    speaking from experience, discount nothing.

    personally, i’d assume he’s seeing something rather than not. 😉

  2. Julie Robinson permalink
    December 12, 2008 5:27 am

    Syd,
    Sounds like the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree as far as imagination goes. However, I agree with Crys on the ‘discount nothing.’ Perhaps it is the more imaginative people who can see beyond . . .
    Julie

  3. Sydney permalink
    December 12, 2008 1:04 pm

    Well, now I feel loads better. LOL I don’t think I’d be so aversed to ‘discount nothing’ if not for the whole red eyes thing. You guys caught that part, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

