Skip to content

Unbreakable Now Available!

October 11, 2007


Now Available from Samhain Publishing!

UNBREAKABLE by Sydney Somers
http://samhainpublishing.com/romance/unbreakable

Five years ago the man she loved died in her arms…or did he?

Jordan McAdam leads an unusual double life. Police officer by day, vigilante by night. But Jordan isn’t interested in the average criminal. She stalks Shadow Demons, creatures who prey on the innocent, creatures whom she suspects are responsible for a string of bizarre sacrificial murders. Creatures who killed her partner and lover.

Gage Campbell has spent the last few years on an elite team of Shadow Destroyers, hunting down the demons who changed his life—and his DNA. Then an assignment leads him straight back to the woman he hasn’t been able to stop thinking about for five long years. The woman he had no choice but to leave behind.

Is the man before her a mimic demon bent on tormenting her, or is it Gage returned from the dead? All Jordan knows is that the raging desire between them is real.

Standing between them are years of secrets and hurt, and a love that just might have the power to bring them together. If the murder case they’re working on doesn’t separate them–permanently.

EXCERPT

Jordan set her sword aside, her expression serious. “It got you, didn’t it?”

“It’ll be fine.” Already he could feel his skin coming together to seal the gash in his leg layer by layer, but he knew it would hurt like someone had shoved a hot poker into his thigh for another few minutes yet.

“Let me see,” Jordan pleaded, ignoring his continued insistence it was fine, and studying the wound through the tear in his pants.

Her brows rose in amazement. “Does it always heal that quickly for you?”

“Sometimes faster. But you don’t heal as fast,” he guessed. It was common for Destroyers to have varying degrees of essence running through them. It all depended on how the transference happened in the first place, how long they were exposed to it and the demon.

“It would probably take me a few hours to heal a gash like that. I guess that war demon bit you harder than me.” A cynical smile curved her lips.

“Don’t joke, Jordan. A stealth demon was in your home. I doubt it was coincidence.”

She rocked back on her heels. “And what would you have me do? Should I have screamed and waited for someone to call nine-one-one?”

“Of course not,” he snapped.

“Then what kind of a response are you looking for? I don’t know why it was here, but it’s gone now and that’s all I care about.”

“And what if you had come home alone?” The ridiculous comment was out before he could take it back. She wasn’t an innocent. Hell, she could even feel them coming, could defend herself. None of that stopped him from stupidly shooting his mouth off.

Jordan glared at him. “What is it going to take to get you to understand that I can take care of myself? Is it because I wasn’t trained to be one of your Destroyers?”

He searched the hard lines of her face, willing Jordan to understand. “I just don’t want to see you ripped open beyond your healing capabilities.” He caught her hand. “I don’t want you to die in my arms.”

“The way you did mine?” Hurt surfaced in her green eyes.

Gage shook his head. “Except that I didn’t die. How I survived that much blood loss even with the war demon’s essence inside me, mutating my genes, I’ll never know. But you, you’re already as resistant as you’re going to get and there is nothing that will save you from being severed in two with a sacrificial sword.”

“Is that supposed to scare me? And the same thing could happen to you, damn it. Don’t you think I know the risks, that at any time one of them might best me?”

“Jordan,” he began. He didn’t know what to say, if there was anything that could make her understand that if anything happened to her…

“Don’t.” Jordan’s voice shook. “You came here for your assignment. And when this one is done, you’re leaving, right? So let’s just agree to disagree on how I spend my spare time, all right?”

He cupped her face. A sadness he’d done his best to bury clawed through his chest. “I don’t want this life for you.”

She shook her head sadly. “You walked away, remember? What you want
doesn’t matter.”

Her comment knifed through him. “So when this is over and I’m gone, you’ll what? Keep doing this?”

“Yes.”

“Why?” He already feared he knew the answer, but he needed to hear it for himself.

“Because it’s who I am now.”

Watch the Book Video
http://youtube.com/watch?v=kEFTlOaojWc

Buy the Book
http://www.mybookstoreandmore.com/product_info.php?products_id=721

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cathy permalink
    October 11, 2007 10:29 pm

    Love the book trailer and excerpt and already have this book on my weekend to buy list.

Leave a Reply

