Skip to content

My favorite time of day

August 31, 2007

Ah, bedtime!

I adore my kids, but by the time evening rolls around, I’m ready to tuck the little animals in for the night. Especially after a trip to McDonalds (ug) becomes the scene for a tantrum staged by my boundry-testing three year old. It never fails to surprise me how much volume can be packed into two little lungs, especially when I have to half-drag/half-carry the culprit kicking and screaming to the car. And I just love the looks I get on the way out. Sympathy from those people who have kids, relief on the faces of people who don’t plan to have kids, and then an expression of concern on a couple who are probably thinking I’m stealing him. ‘Course that could be because my son is screaming for Daddy(left with the behaving child) and Mommy(who he conveniently forgets is carrying him). Yeah, I love me some bedtime.

Since we’re heading out for the long weekend, I didn’t get much accomplished on the writing front today either. As if going without the internet for three full days isn’t enough to prove myself, my husband is even insisting the laptop stays home altogether. Not that I’m complaining too much about that, not when I take into consideration the size of my TBR pile. It’s just a good thing paper and pens can still be slipped into my bag when the DH isn’t looking.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy permalink
    September 1, 2007 4:58 am

    Oh,no,no Sydney. You’ve clicked the memory swith in my head, and now all those long buried, so not magical moments,(and I have a ton with twin boys), are racing through my brain. I ended many of our daily adventures listening to my two little darlings as they chanted/screaamed/bellowed, in chorus, “we hate you icky mommy”. Wow, I don’t miss that at all, and totally feel you pain.

    Hope the kids are on their best behavior this weekend and you can enjoy some well deserved R & R.

  2. Sydney permalink
    September 13, 2007 2:17 am

    ~ I ended many of our daily adventures listening to my two little darlings as they chanted/screaamed/bellowed, in chorus, “we hate you icky mommy”. ~

    🙂 It’s always sooo much better when they tag-team you. *snort*

Leave a Reply

