Skip to content

I’m a revision freak

February 16, 2007

I absolutely love revising a book. Some people hate the revision process and doing edits. I thrive on them for some weird reason. Unless they’re ones from my editor that make me think, ones that point out a plot hole I overlooked or motivation I didn’t paint clearly enough. Then I have to pace. Pacing I don’t like so much.

But most revisions I just enjoy. Maybe its because the characters and the story all come together at this stage. In draft mode there’s so much to come out and get down, its often hard to do a character justice when so many things are whirling through my brain. But when its down, even if most of what is on the page is written worse than something I would have done in high school (sadly there are pages, even chapters like this sometimes) its easier to tweak than it is to search for the perfect words the first time around.

If you’re an aspiring writer you need to check out Candace Haven’s Fast Draft. When I’m not so close to crunch time I’ll post more on why this process has really worked for me in the last couple months.

But for now it’s back to the revision cave for me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Annalee Blysse permalink
    February 17, 2007 9:41 pm

    I just got the idea of re-writing 45000 words into 1st person, because that is how the voice “sounded”. Here’s to learned to revise quickly!

Leave a Reply

