Skip to content

New Years Promises

January 3, 2007

Screw the whole resolutions thing this year. Maybe, just maybe if I call them promises, then I just might stand a chance of holding to them. So this year I’m keeping it simple and sticking with just three promises.

1. To put a smile on my sons’ and husband’s face at least once every day. Except the days when my husband is being an ass. Those won’t count against me.

2. Not to sweat the small stuff when it comes to my writing. I have no control over who buys my books or who likes/dislikes them. All I can do is pour a little more of my heart into each story and hope that as long as I’m satisfied when I type “the end” that someone else will be when they read it.

3. I’ve only got one life, one body, and I sure as hell do not make enough for numerous plastic surgeries. So, this year is not about crash carb diets or “must lose twenty pounds”. It’s about doing what needs to be done to make me feel better physically and emotionally in the long run. I’m not a talk show person really but my mother watches Dr. Phil and makes me watch it with her when I visit. In a recent episode Dr. Phil was talking about how people can’t control how other people act/think/do, they can only be accountable for their own actions and responses(see number two promise). So this promise is about being in control of the things I have power over and not letting the things that I don’t eat me up inside, and taking this responsibility to myself seriously.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa Logan permalink
    January 3, 2007 4:19 am

    Great post…enjoyed your blog. I just posted about NOT doing the New Year’s resolution thing myself. And any blog with that gorgeous a photo of Leo front and center deserves a big thumbs up!

  2. Sydney permalink
    January 5, 2007 3:53 pm

    Thanks Lisa. A little Leo never hurts, huh? *g*

Leave a Reply

