Skip to content

Win an ARC of Hide and Seek

October 1, 2006

It’s time for another Blog contest I think. This time up for grabs are one of two HTML or PDF ARC’s of Hide and Seek. To enter all you have to do is post a comment here about my books, ask me a question about writing, reading, one of my upcoming books. Anything. Just comment and be entered. Contest for this one closes October 7th.

Hide and Seek (coming in October from New Concepts Publishing)

One of these days True Foster would learn. Learn not to steal just for kicks, and not to thrive on the rush from…putting it back.

Maybe then the lure of an emerald pendant in her boss’s possession would be easy to ignore. But instead of finding herself in police custody when she’s caught in the act, Noah Mitchell offers True an unusual get-out-of-jail-free card. All she has to do is play by his rules.

But can she trust Noah to uphold his end of the bargain when midnight comes? Or will giving into her attraction prove to be True’s biggest risk of all?

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Tam permalink
    October 1, 2006 1:57 pm

    What was the very first book that got you interested in writing?

  2. Tam permalink
    October 1, 2006 1:57 pm

    What was your first book you ever wrote & was it ever published?

  3. Tam permalink
    October 1, 2006 1:58 pm

    How many books that you written have not been published?

  4. Tam permalink
    October 1, 2006 1:58 pm

    Is writing what you always wanted to do?
    If not what did you want to do?

  5. Tam permalink
    October 1, 2006 2:48 pm

    What do you do if you get writers block?

  6. LISA WILLIAMS permalink
    October 1, 2006 3:15 pm

    Sound like a great storyline.

  7. Deborah Chan permalink
    October 1, 2006 3:16 pm

    Congrats on your new up coming release.

  8. Shuck Ying permalink
    October 1, 2006 3:16 pm

    Your books are wonderful.

  9. emme_kitty permalink
    October 1, 2006 3:25 pm

    good morning all

  10. Cathy permalink
    October 1, 2006 5:18 pm

    Great storyline, looking forward to reading more.

  11. Cathy permalink
    October 1, 2006 6:50 pm

    read the excerpt for your upcoming book Caged Desires at Samhain. A shapeshifter and a vampire, what an intriguing storyline. I am looking forward to reading more about it, along with the other books in the Talon’s series.

  12. Pam P. permalink
    October 1, 2006 7:56 pm

    Sounds good, Syd – waiting for a teaser at your site.

    Especially looking forward to Caged Desire. That’s a great cover!

  13. Jeanette J permalink
    October 1, 2006 10:55 pm

    In Danse Macbre, Stephen King said that to write horror fiction you have to read horror fiction; is this what you do…read a lot of books in your genre or do you read a variety of different genres?

  14. Anonymous permalink
    October 1, 2006 11:55 pm

    Love your books!

    Cynthia W.

  15. Tamara permalink
    October 1, 2006 11:55 pm

    Were you scared the first time you submitted a manuscript?

  16. Pamk permalink
    October 2, 2006 1:12 am

    Love your books. Have resurrection on my ebookwise right now.

  17. LadyVampire2u permalink
    October 2, 2006 8:22 am

    Where do you get the inspiration for your stories? And are you the first published author in your family?

  18. Sydney permalink
    October 2, 2006 11:32 am

    Wow! I can’t get over the comments already. You guys rock! I’m just getting over an irritating flu bug, but will be by later tonight to answer some of these great questions. Need to do some of that resting thing, read plenty of books… or it that drink plenty of fluids? LOL I’ll be back.

  19. Cherie permalink
    October 2, 2006 7:38 pm

    Love the cover for Caged Desire and the story sounds great as well!

    Cherie Japp

  20. Tehya permalink
    October 2, 2006 7:56 pm

    Do you write full time or just part time?

    Tehya

  21. Pam P. permalink
    October 2, 2006 10:37 pm

    Wondered why you were silent, Syd. Feel better soon, rest up, best think for the flu.

  22. Pam P. permalink
    October 2, 2006 10:37 pm

    Wondered why you were silent, Syd. Feel better soon, rest up, best think for the flu.

  23. Ali permalink
    October 3, 2006 6:24 am

    Hi, Sydney đŸ™‚
    Congratulations on your upcoming release!
    So, how do you plan on celebrating?

  24. Ali permalink
    October 3, 2006 6:24 am

    How did you celebrate your first sale?

  25. Dorothy Sexton permalink
    October 3, 2006 3:28 pm

    The story sounds like something i would like.

  26. Sydney permalink
    October 3, 2006 11:42 pm

    Answers to Tam’s questions

    What was the very first book that got you interested in writing?

    Probably one by Judith McNaught. her books were the first that got me back into Romance when I was nineteen or so. I read Perfect and liked it so much I tried my first historical, Something Wonderful and then Whitney My Love and never looks back. So if there were books that got me thinking about writing a book again, these would be it.

    What was your first book you ever wrote & was it ever published?

    My first book was a romantic suspense called South of Paradise, still not published. It’s sitting here waiting for me to get around to rewriting it and it needs a lot of that. LOL

    How many books that you written have not been published?

    Just my first. I’ve been pretty lucky that way.

    Is writing what you always wanted to do?

    For the most part yeah. I wrote my first real story in the second grade, made my first attempt at a novel at 16, and thought about a career in journalism for a while. I learned early on that journalism didn’t give me the creative freedom my imagination needed. And there were the odd periods where I wanted to be a teacher, like the one that lasted long enough to get me through university and get my degree in education. LOL.

    If not what did you want to do?

    I think I covered that above. LOL

    What do you do if you get writers block?

    Pace a lot. Up and down the hall. Listen to whatever my theme song is for the particular story, and if neither one of those get me anywhere, I tag one of my friends and have a brainstorm session on IM until I get it worked out. I’ve never suffered from it from any great length of time, which is good. *g*

  27. Sydney permalink
    October 3, 2006 11:58 pm

    **My comments

    LISA WILLIAMS said…
    Sound like a great storyline.

    **Thanks, Lisa!

    Deborah Chan said…
    Congrats on your new up coming release.

    **I’m so excited, thanks Deborah.

    Shuck Ying said…
    Your books are wonderful.

    **Talk about making a sick girl’s day. *g*

    emme_kitty said…
    good morning all

    **I’m way behind, so good evening to you. *g*

    Cathy said…
    read the excerpt for your upcoming book Caged Desires at Samhain. A shapeshifter and a vampire, what an intriguing storyline. I am looking forward to reading more about it, along with the other books in the Talon’s series.

    **I knew right from the start Logan needed a strong heroine and when it crossed my mind to make her a vampire, it all just came together. But when I pictured the initial scene in my head that gave me the story idea, she wasn’t a vamp, but it worked out really well.

    Pam P. said…
    Sounds good, Syd – waiting for a teaser at your site.
    Especially looking forward to Caged Desire. That’s a great cover!

    **I’m working on that now. *g* All the covers for the series turned out so awesome. I’m so psyched to be part of the series.

    Jeanette J said…
    In Danse Macbre, Stephen King said that to write horror fiction you have to read horror fiction; is this what you do…read a lot of books in your genre or do you read a variety of different genres?

    **I write mostly paranormal, and I do read a lot in that genre. So I do think that’s imporant. I also read a lot of romantic suspense and some lighter stuff. Hell, I read everything. *g* If I’m not reading, my writing suffers. It’s like the muse takes a holiday if I’m not reading something. I have no idea how some authors can NOT read when they’re working on a book.

    Anonymous said…
    Love your books!
    Cynthia W.

    ** Thanks Cynthia!

    Tamara said…
    Were you scared the first time you submitted a manuscript?

    ***No not scared. Terrified. I subbed my first book, that romantic suspense to Silhouette originally and I remember being so thrilled when they asked to read the whole thing and then terrified when I sent it in. Although that first attempt didn’t snare me a contract way back when, I got great feedback and learned from it.

    Pamk said…
    Love your books. Have resurrection on my ebookwise right now.

    ** Cool Pam. Hope you enjoy it when you get to it.

    LadyVampire2u said…
    Where do you get the inspiration for your stories? And are you the first published author in your family?

    ** The characters and story ideas generally just pop into my head, but now and then a line from a song, a look between people on a movie or tv show, or something I hear in the news will spark an idea. And yes, I’m the first published author in my family. *g*

    Cherie said…
    Love the cover for Caged Desire and the story sounds great as well!

    **Thanks Cherie. The more we talk about the cover the more I stare. The print cover is hot too.

    Tehya said…
    Do you write full time or just part time?

    **I write every night, sometime during the days too. I don’t have a day job outside the house, but do my little boys ever keep me busy. So I guess its both full and part time. LOL
    Tehya

    Pam P. said…
    Wondered why you were silent, Syd. Feel better soon, rest up, best think for the flu.

    **Feeling a little better today, aside from this damn cough. At least getting sick now, maybe I’ll be spared another one until after xmas. LOL

    Ali said…
    Hi, Sydney đŸ™‚
    Congratulations on your upcoming release!
    So, how do you plan on celebrating?

    **Thanks Ali. Probably by settling down and starting on something else. LOL

    Ali said…
    How did you celebrate your first sale?

    **I think the DH treated me to pizza and a cold beer. Such a romantic isn’t he? LOL

    Dorothy Sexton said…
    The story sounds like something i would like.

    **True and Noah definitely have a fun story to tell with this one.

  28. Pam P. permalink
    October 4, 2006 8:50 am

    The other Pam has Resurrection on the handheld to read now, too, lol.

    I loved those same McNaught books, too, Syd. Kingdom of Dreams is a favorite, too.

    Nice to hear an author who still loves to read. So many don’t have the time, but others say they “read” differently now, looking to judge and edit in a way, instead of just continuing to enjoy being a reader.

  29. Cindy's Romance Books permalink
    October 5, 2006 5:33 pm

    How do you come up with your story ideas? Also do you do an outline first or just start writing?

  30. Cindy's Romance Books permalink
    October 5, 2006 5:34 pm

    I would like to write but I have never written fiction. It seem so hard.

  31. Cindy's Romance Books permalink
    October 5, 2006 5:35 pm

    Oh, by the way, I am not an author. Just an avid reader. More than 20 years ago I did write for a newspaper but now I am disable. Part of the disability affects my memory.

  32. Cindy's Romance Books permalink
    October 5, 2006 5:37 pm

    By the way, I love your work. You are very talented.

  33. Sydney permalink
    October 5, 2006 11:09 pm

    *** My Comments

    Pam P. said..

    I loved those same McNaught books, too, Syd. Kingdom of Dreams is a favorite, too.

    *** Kingdom was one of my favorites too. Almost forgot about that. I’m actually *gulp* toying with a plot for a medieval fantasy story.

    Nice to hear an author who still loves to read. So many don’t have the time, but others say they “read” differently now, looking to judge and edit in a way, instead of just continuing to enjoy being a reader.

    *** I do find I’m a little more critical with the books I read. I notice plot holes or stupid characters bug me a little more since I’ve been writing, but I couldn’t “not” read. My love of writing would never have developed it not for the stories I read over the years, so I always make the time for it.

    At 2:33 PM, Cindy’s Romance Books said…

    How do you come up with your story ideas? Also do you do an outline first or just start writing?

    *** They come from all over the place. *g* And yeah I do use outlines. I generally brainstorm scenes not in any order, try to get them in order and then slot a few into each chapter and the rest of the holes get filled as I go when the characters really start yammering. *g*

    At 2:34 PM, Cindy’s Romance Books said…

    I would like to write but I have never written fiction. It seem so hard.

    *** I actually find it easier than non-fiction. I like the freedom instead of just having to stick to the facts. My imagination is sometimes just more interesting. LOL

    At 2:35 PM, Cindy’s Romance Books said…

    Oh, by the way, I am not an author. Just an avid reader. More than 20 years ago I did write for a newspaper but now I am disable. Part of the disability affects my memory.

    *** I wrote for a small Catholic newspaper (which was funny since I’m not Catholic lol) for a few summers. I had a hard time forcing myself to focus on just the who, what, where, when and how thing though.

    At 2:37 PM, Cindy’s Romance Books said…

    By the way, I love your work. You are very talented.

    *** Thanks Cindy! *vbg*

  34. amy2ericky permalink
    October 8, 2006 1:21 am

    Hi Sydney – my comment may not be appreciated (by you or other authors), and my intent is not not offend, but it is an honest opinion and viewpoint, so here it is: I really enjoy hearing news about authors, and belong to entirely too many Yahoo newsgroups. I go to “chats” or “posting parties” at various loops, and realtime live chats on publisher and author websites when it fits my schedule and I feel “social.”. When there is a loop chat, if I don’t have the time to participate, I simply delete all digest emails for that group that day.

    Where I find I am generally having to draw the line of TOO MUCH is – with author blogs, MySpace, and the like. Newsgroups I can get digests or be on special notices. I understand that you can subscribe to blogs as well, but my opinion, based on admittedly limited experience, is that blogs usually contain more personal information on the author’s life and writing process, when what I am more interested in is excerpts, notice of upcoming releases, and contest information. In addition, all topics on a blog are begun by the blogger, and spin-off discussions can be buried in replies to the blogger, whereas spin-off discussions on a loop tend to get new topic names, especially if a lively group joins in, and are easier to locate and follow.

    As for OT (to me, those not directly dealing with book releases or some form of promotion including contests) discussions, they of course happen on loops, but especially on digest, they are easy to scroll past or delete without reading. I do sometimes go to a blog and reply to a post to enter a contest, but if the contest winner is only revealed on the blog, and I win, I may never know it. Why? I don’t chose to take the time to copy and paste the information about the contest into a text file that I check daily or weekly or whatever. Again, it’s under the heading of TOO MUCH. I would rather spend my time reading BOOKS than BLOGS. And honestly, I would think that authors would (and should) rather have readers spend their time reading their books than reading about the events in said author’s life last week. Please note that other than the contest posts made recently, I have read none of your blog, Sydney, so I apologize if you do not fit my personal sterotype of a blogging author.

    I repeat that my intention is not to offend, and I’m not quite sure why my opinion on this topic rose to the surface here and not elsewhere. It may be that my 3D life is in enough of a state of flux that the internet and reading are escapes from that turmoil, and I have noticed that I am more and more often chosing to delete minutia relating to others in order to better deal with my own problems. Thanks for the oportunity to share my opinions.

  35. Sydney permalink
    October 8, 2006 2:04 am

    Opinions are always welcome and I’m not at all offended by your comments. Infact I agree with a lot of what you said. I’m swamped with yahoo groups myself and have had to scale back because it was eating into writing time. (I’m a little addicted to the net *g*)

    And you’re right I would absolutely rather have people spending their time reading my books over reading my blog. I’m not an author, for the most part, who fills space with my day to day life. On top of the fact its not all that interesting, LOL, I think most people who stop by my blog are simply looking for more current info than I have on my website since I don’t update that daily. So I know I try to keep posts focused wherever possible on what I’m working on and the like. Epecially since that’s the kind of material I like to see when I visit blogs of my favorite authors.

    I actually used to have a reader loop, but things were a bit crazy and I found my blog which links right from my website and easier way to keep people in the know without feeling like I was being a poor group hostess when I didn’t have anything to discuss. LOL

    As for contests, I guess I like doing them on my blog since it gives me a little opportunity to interact with readers on my own corner of cyberspace without needing to have a group. And it has crossed my mind that people who enter the contest do have to come back to see if they win, but short of asking people to post their e-mail addies with their response, it’s all I can I do I suspect.

    And as you said, people do have other things they need to be doing than checking author blogs. I guess I just like to be a little selfish *g* and make people come back to check, and while they’re here they may see something else, a new excerpt, some cover art, an announcement of a project that I’ve got on the go, that will interest them.

    But you have raised a very valid point and I will at the very least invite people who enter contests on my blog to leave their e-mail addy (or send it to me privately) if they don’t think they’ll get back to follow up. I just hope no one gets spammed with too much extra “grow a larger penis” spam *g* because of that. But then the damn spammers are everywhere anyway. LOL

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

