Skip to content

Is it just me?

August 1, 2006

Or is it becoming harder and harder to find really good books? Okay, so I do have less time to read than I used to, but I do read something every day, sometimes a few chapters, sometimes just a few paragraphs. One of the drawbacks of writing is that I have to sacrifice time elsewhere, so reading takes a hit sometimes. And maybe that’s part of the reason that it takes a lot more to hold my attention.

I used to be one of those people that never put a book down, HAD to finish it no matter what. These days…time is precious and I’m far more inclined to put a book down if its not doing it for me. My only problem now is second guessing whether or not I gave a book a fair shake and put it aside too early. I never used to believe in “wallbangers”. There were good books and books that were just okay to not great. Nowadays its commonplace to hear people talk about the books they couldn’t finish and tried to see how hard they could hit the wall with it.

Has it always been this way? Or does it take more and more to hold our attention? I find I’ve become this way to some extent with movies too, but that’s another blog post altogether.

There are lots of good, average books around, some really good ones, and even less great ones. Why is it so hard to find the really good and great ones. Is there too much selection in romance books, too many just “good” stories and not enough really good or great ones? Or is that what is only average to me is kick ass to someone else? I’m sure that’s the case with a lot of books, but you know Nora and Sherrilyn and Crusie and a ton of other big names didn’t get to be big just because only a small number of people think they write “great” stories.

So if you’ve got a recommendation for a really good or great read, I want to hear about it. I’m tired of the average, I want to find a few new autobuy authors. Authors who’s stories are impossible to put down. Who are your autobuys? Who seldomly lets you down in the “great read” department?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelley Munro permalink
    August 2, 2006 2:55 am

    Hi Sydney – I’m a bit like you in that my reading time is less than it used to be. Writing takes precedence. If a book doesn’t grab me by the end of the first chapter, it’s history.

    I’ve actually had a good run recently. I’ve really enjoyed Enslave Me Sweetly by Gena Showalter, Warprize by Elizabeth Vaugh and The Smoke Thief by Shanna Abe.

  2. Sydney permalink
    August 2, 2006 5:29 pm

    I have Gena’s Awaken Me Darkly in my TBR pile. I’ll have to get to that soon. Thanks for the other suggestions too Shelly.

  3. Stacy~ permalink
    August 3, 2006 11:09 am

    I read Gena’s “Animal Instincts”, which was both funny and hot.

    JR Ward, if you haven’t read the Brotherhood yet. Awesome.

    Erin McCarthy always makes me laugh, and she tells very sexy stories.

    Julia Quinn & Lisa Kleypas for historicals.

    Hope that helps…

  4. Gail aka Katelyn aka Who? permalink
    August 4, 2006 10:37 pm

    I find that since I started writing, I’ve grown more and more critical of what I read.

    This can be good OR bad, I suppose. I spend less time on mediocre books – but when reading submissions for acquisition, I fear I might be harder than others.

Leave a Reply

